November to change it all

     Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Me too! I’ve been doing it since 2008 and I’ve yet to win once. I have a hard time forcing myself to sit down and write when there’s so much going on around me. My life always seems to be a huge clusterfuck in  November. This year will be undoubtedly the same. But I have a plan.

     Writing for long periods of time everyday is a habit I have to train myself into doing. There is no possible way for me to sit down and write 1,667 words in one sitting at the moment. Not happening. My ass will not sit in a chair long enough to do this. Yet.

     I’m going to try something a little differently this year. Instead of trying to force myself into sit down and write 1.667 words in one sitting, I’m going to break my daily goals into chunks. I’ll start with 3 chunks of 556 words. Then I’ll go for two chunks of 834. Once I can do that, I’ll start shooting for 1,667  words in one sitting. 

     How about you? Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year?

3 thoughts on “November to change it all

  1. I’m doing it for my fourth year (started in 2011). I’ve won it every year I’ve done so far, with escalating word counts. This years I’m going for a crazy-high goal (120k), on top of changing locations. It’s going to be tough to find the time and dedication to manage the 4k/day that goal requires, but I’m going to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

